"Note 1: A player who goes to the ground in the process of attempting to secure possession of a loose ball (with or without contact by an opponent) must maintain control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, there is no possession. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, it is a catch, interception, or recovery.
Note 2: If a player goes to the ground out-of-bounds (with or without contact by an opponent) in the process of attempting to secure possession of a loose ball at the sideline, he must maintain complete and continuous control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, or there is no possession.
Note 3: If a player has control of the ball, a slight movement of the ball will not be considered loss of possession. He must lose control of the ball in order to rule that there has been a loss of possession."
According to their own rules, it's the Ravens ball and Reed is awarded a fumble recovery. It's unbelieveable that the Ref who is right there gets it right, but somehow the head Ref, after contact with the "upstairs", and reviewing it, changes the call. I just wonder if we are going to follow the rulebook, or make up calls as we go along to fit our own agenda.
Edited by Tdog, 10 December 2012 - 11:21 AM.